El Pendo Cave is near the bottom of a karst depression, and acts as a sink-hole for a small stream. It is surrounded by meadows and eucalyptus plantations as well as deciduous and holm oak woods.
Regional Archaeological Context:
The paintings in El Pendo Cave are very similar to those found in several caves in the area of Ramales, such as Covalanas Cave, and are said to belong to the “Ramales School”.
The cave was discovered by M. Sanz de Sautuola in 1878. Since then it has been excavated on numerous occasions. The engravings were found in 1906 by Alcalde del Río, while the paintings were identified in 1997 by A. Valle, C. G. Luque and J. M. Morlote.
Archaeological evidence at the site:
Palaeolithic rock art and an archaeological deposit in the process of being excavated.
The cave contains one of the largest Palaeolithic occupation deposits in Europe, and its excavation process can be viewed. The rock art forms two groups. The red paintings are located on a long frieze at the end of the first chamber in the cave. Most of the figures are hinds, as well as a horse, ibex and several signs. The engravings, consisting of a bird and a horse, are located in the final passage and can only be seen with special permission, owing to their difficult access.
The paintings have been dated in the Gravettian period and early Solutrean (26,000-20,000 years ago).
Type of Site: Cave
Adress: Barrio El Churi, Escobedo de Camargo, Cantabria.
Telephone: 942 598 425, 942 259 214
Fax: 942 259 214
Website: www.culturadecantabria.com / http://cuevas.culturadecantabria.com
Location: El Churi
Low season: From 1st November to 28st February.
Closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.
From Wednesdays to Fridays open from 9:30 am to 15:30 pm
Tours: 9:40 am, 10:40 am, 11:40 am, 12:40 pm, 13:40 pm and 14:40 pm.
Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays mornings open from 9:30 am to 14:30 pm and afternoons from 15:30 to 17:30 pm
Tours at 9:40 am, 10:40 am, 11:40 am, 12:40 pm, 13:40 pm, 15:40 pm and 16:40 pm.
Mid season: From 1st March to 13th June and from 18th September to 31st October.
Closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. Except the Tuesday 11th April.
From Wednesdays to Sundays mornigs open from 9:30 am to 14:30 pm and afternoons from 15:30 to 18:30 pm
Tours at 9:40 am, 10:40 am, 11:40 am, 12:40 pm, 13:40 pm, 15:40 pm, 16:40 pm and 17:40 pm.
High season: From 14th June to 17th September.
Closed on Mondays.
From Tuesdays to Sundays mornings open from 10:30 am to 14:30 pm (last visit at 13:40 pm) and afternoons from 15:30 to 19:30 pm (last visit at 18:40 pm)
Tours at 10:40 am, 11:40 am, 12:40 pm, 13:40 pm, 15:40 pm, 16:40 pm, 17:40 pm and 18:40 pm.
Booking and access:
Nearby cultural destinations:
In Camargo: Cantabria Ethnographic Museum, El Collado Castle. San Pedro de Escobedo Necropolis. Roman Baths at San Juan de Maliaño.
Nearby natural destinations:
In Camargo: Pozón de la Dolores, Alday Salt-marsh, Sierra de Peñajorao.
Accommodation near the site:
In Camargo: Hotel Golf, Hotel Camargo, Hotel Nueva Plaza, Hotel Hiblanc, Hotel Parayas.
Restaurants near the site:
In Camargo: Restaurant El Buen Gusto, 2 de Noviembre, El Tocinero.
In Piélagos: El Molino, Casa Setién, El Redoble, Mesón Puente Viejo.